About Us

EGBA Committee 2018-2019


Ruth Smythe

Vice President

Mario Zanoni


Debbie Van Der Peet


Troy Smythe

General Committee

Paul Gunther

Sema Yilmaz

Peter Grimsted

Website Administrator

Jeremy Kilby


East Gippsland Badminton Association (EGBA) was incorporated in August 1989. Prior to this we were known as Bairnsdale and District Badminton Association.

We have records dating back to the 1950's detailing the teams who competed in the local pennant.

Teams from various eras have included (apologies for any omissions): St. Andrews, Bruthen, Uniting, Johnsonville, Orbost, Lindenow South, Wy Yung, Lakes Entrance, Bairnsdale Technical School, St John’s, Waratahs, St Mary’s, Methodist, Picnic Point and Shuttle.

If you have or know any interesting local badminton history, please get in touch so we can add to or amend our records.

Historical Office Bearers 1990 —

Click here (png) and here (Excel) for a list of historical office bearers.


Badminton Australia is the national sports organisation for badminton in Australia.
Badminton Victoria was formed in 1932 and is the peak governing body for Badminton in Victoria
Badminton World Federation Laws of Badminton & Regulations PDF Handbook